National Polar Bear Day


polar bearThis post will be a little different today. While I was looking up Polar Bear Day I found these facts about Polar Bears at the page below. If you want to get the full description of the thirteen facts go to the National Wildlife Federation page. It’s an amazing read.

http://blog.nwf.org/2011/02/national-polar-bear-day-13-things-you-may-not-know-about-polar-bears/

13 Things You May Not Know about Polar Bears

  1. The polar bear rivals the Alaska brown bear as the world’s largest land predator.
  2. Polar bears are closely related to brown bears.
  3. Brown and polar bears can interbreed and produce fertile young
  4. You can sometimes tell male polar bears from female by the hair on the males’ front legs.
  5. Polar bear hair is transparent
  6. Polar bears are so adapted to cold that they can’t take temperatures above 50 degrees.
  7. Wild polar bears probably live more than 25 years only rarely, but in captivity they have lasted up to 43 years.
  8. Despite the harsh winter conditions that batter the polar bear’s Arctic home, only females about to give birth hibernate.
  9. Most land animals are too fast for the bear to catch.
  10. Although polar bears eat everything from crabs to kelp to muskoxen, they are adapted to feeding on calorie-rich blubber.
  11. Found in Arctic reaches in both hemispheres, the polar bear maintains a foothold on more of its native range than any other large meat-eating animal
  12. The polar bear has been protected for many years.
  13. About 25,000 polar bears survive worldwide. 

Comment: Polar Bears are amazing animals who are in danger of becoming extinct due to global warming. Do  you love visiting the zoos and seeing the animals? We must, or we wouldn’t go. Are you sad knowing an animal is held in  captivity? They never get to live out their lives, as they would in the wild. They’re usually well taken care of, but if the zoo could get  injured animals from rescue farms or sanctuaries around the world, it would be better.

Exchanging giving a home to these animals in captivity would  help the world learn about them and save the  lives of the animals. They would live a better life. I’ll have to check, maybe the zoos already do this. If animals in zoos will live for many years, this gives zoos plenty of time to find a different solution to supplying animals to the zoos around the world. They could already be doing this. Maybe you’re the one, who will come up with a better  solution, when you’re older. It isn’t too early to start  searching for a solution.

I know I’m not knowledgeable enough or know if my idea is usable. I realized I don’ t know if they are already using a form of my suggestion,  but if they are not we need to find  a way. I’m just a grandmother, who loves animals and hates to see them behind bars. I’m just giving my feelings, which means I’m neither right or wrong. I will still go to the zoo and enjoy the monkeys and meerkats antics and all the other wonderful things they have to offer. I hope you will, too. I would never have gotten to see these creatures up close and I  appreciate what the zoo has to offer.  

Discuss this with your parents or teachers. See if you can find another solution. My idea may be  a silly or impossible solution,  but I was looking for a solution. How about you?

See more at: http://www.nwf.org/Wildlife/Wildlife-Library/Mammals/Polar-Bear.aspx#sthash.LQjHci7C.dpuf  and

http://www.nwf.org/Wildlife/Wildlife-Library/Mammals/Polar-Bear.aspx#sthash.LQjHci7C.dpuf 

