Live Peaceably With All


“If it is possible, so far as it depends on you, live peaceably with all.”—Romans 12:18.

That sounds like a hard thing to ask, but God isn’t trying to make things hard. He’s trying to help us make life easier. How can we live peaceable with everyone? I know it’s not easy, and I know it’s easy to blame others, when we do get upset. I sometimes do the same thing. After I calm down, I realize how silly I was. I caused a fuss for nothing. I made myself upset or angry. Then I’m embarrassed and have to apologize for my actions. I didn’t have to react the way I did. 

Living peaceably with others doesn’t depend on the other person. It really does depend on you. Do you get upset, if your mom doesn’t let you have sugar cereals for breakfast? You mom wants you to stay full until lunch. The sugar will make you hungry again in a short amount of time. See if she’ll let you have the sugared cereals on the weekend. Then you’re both peaceful.

Does the teacher make you angry, when she questions why you don’t hand in your homework on time?  Do you say”She’s mean. She’s always picking on me.” You’re not angry at the teacher. You’re angry at yourself for not remembering to do the homework or bring it to school. 

Do you yell at your little brother or sister because they annoy you as soon as you get home? You’d rather chill out with a video game, after a hard day at school. They want you to spend a few minutes with them, when you get home because they missed you.  These are all things you can control.  Start today and begin to live peacefully with everyone.

Father, help us to live peacefully with everyone. Help us to be aware of our part in making the world a  better place to live.

 

