Labor in the Lord


     1 Corinthians 15:58  Therefore, my dear brothers, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labor in the Lord is not in vain.

No matter what I write, I offer my work up to the Lord. I try to listen to His urgings when I sit down to write. Whether it’s a devotional or a children’s story, I want it to be the best. I write as though God were my publisher, so I want to be proud of it.

Last Christmas, I submitted several children’s stories to a fairly new Christian publishing company. I was delighted when one of mine was chosen and they offered me a traditional writing contract. It was the best Christmas present ever. They emailed me the contract, but now asked if I could supply illustrations. If I had none, for a fee they would supply an illustrator. I knew that with a traditional contract there shouldn’t be extra charges. When I questioned them, I found they were changing the contract. It was now considered a shared venture, where I would a pay minimal part of the charges. I wanted to sign so desperately, but I felt uneasiness. I didn’t really have the money to put into illustrations. I also didn’t want to put us into debt to get my book into print.

Through online friends, I got the name of a writer’s lawyer and got in touch with her. I emailed her my contract and she did a one time phone consult with me. She gave me her opinion and pointed me in the direction of other places to get information about the publisher. After much prayer and consideration, I turned down the contract.

Do I wonder? Yes. Not about my decision, but about what it would have felt like to be a published author. I’m glad I listened to the inner urgings of God. I know my journey isn’t in vain and I will persevere. If one publisher was interested, another one will be found and my labor will bear fruit.

Lord, keep touching my writing life and help me not to waver in my convictions. Thank you for putting people in my life that I can turn to for advice. Help me to listen. Even though I want my writing published, help me stand firm against my testing. Because I have offered You the labor of my work, I know my journey won’t be in vain.

One thought on “Labor in the Lord

  1. Marge, these are words of wisdom and inspiration for writers, especially for those of us who are struggling to be published. It can be so easy to accept the first offer we get without first considering every angle. And thanks for reminding us that whatever we do, we need to do it for His glory.

Comments are closed.